Stay in touch

David Bowie's The Mercury Demos to be Released in June

10 May 2019

David Bowie's 1969 demo tape, recorded to secure a record deal with Mercury Records, will be released on June 28th via Parlophone as The Mercury Demos.

Comprised of 10 recordings, the new Bowie collection contains an early version of 'Space Oddity' and nine previously unreleased songs.

Recorded with John Hutchinson, The Mercury Demos will include the following tracks: Space Oddity, Janine, An Occasional Dream, Conversation Piece, Ching-a-Ling, I'm Not Quite (aka Letter To Hermione), Love To The Dawn, Love Song, When I'm Five and Life Is A Circus.

The release of The Mercury Demos is part of the ongoing celebrations for 'Space Oddity' - which turns 50 this year - and follows the recent release of Spying Through A Keyhole and Clareville Grove Demo collections.

The Mercury Demos will come in a replica of the original tape box and will feature a vinyl LP, a print, two photo contact sheets and sleeve notes by Mark Adams. For more information, click here.

Genesis 100

Genesis 100


The story of your book

Since 1974 Genesis has created signed limited edition books on behalf of authors and artists ranging from the Beatles to Buckingham Palace.


Stay in touch

Genesis news and special offers direct to inbox.